Hold, Hold on. Hold on to me. Cause I’m a little unsteady. A little unsteady.

Hold, Hold on. Hold on to me. Cause I’m a little unsteady. A little unsteady.

Tonight is more than just Christmas Eve.

Tonight marks the first night of Hannukah—when the Israelites were holed up in a temple fortress. They had rebelled against the oppressive forces in their world.

It wasn’t going well.

It was dark.

Everything was empty—food, water, oil, hope.

 

We’ve all been to a temple of desperation.

Some of us might be there now.

 

Mama, come here, Approach, appear

Daddy, I’m alone, ‘Cause this house don’t feel like home

If you love me, don’t let go

If you love me, don’t let go

Hold, Hold on

Hold on to me

‘Cause I’m a little unsteady

A little unsteady

 

It’s the time of year that’s so dark that, even though you’re a totally modern, totally with-it, science-believing kind of person, there’s still a tiny part of you that wonder if it’s ever going to get light again.

It’s the same part of you that wonders if the problems of the world can ever really be solved…the problems of your world can ever really be solved

Rabbi Noa Kushner acknowledges this space: So maybe you’re wondering when do we light the Hanukkah candles? The answer: right when doubt and cynicism are kicking in, fueled by seemingly endless darkness. That’s the time to light.

Right exactly then.

 

Mother, I know

That you’re tired of being alone

Dad I know you’re trying to fight when you feel like flying

If you love me

Don’t let go

If you love me

Don’t let go

 

Hold, Hold on

Hold on to me

‘Cause I’m a little unsteady, A little unsteady

 

Are you feeling unsteady? Do you have worries? Are you in a personal temple of despair?

“It’s as if the Jewish tradition knows us intimately, knows our weaknesses and fears and our dark dark nights and says, ‘Here. Hold this candle. Strike this match. Now watch what you are capable of doing. See what you can do. See that, although the darkness has taken hold outside there is still light. It had always been there. It’s just the kind of light that requires you to help light it. ‘

“Rabbi Chaim Soloveitchik teaches that the real miracle of Hanukkah was not that the oil lasted for eight days instead of one. Rather, the miracle was that, given we had no oil, we tried to light anything at all.”

 

Find a flame or make one.

Go ahead and light the candle.

Let the light hold on to you.

Let the light steady you.

“The Light shines in the darkness and the darkness cannot overcome it.”

 

Hold, Hold on

Hold on to me

‘Cause I’m a little unsteady, A little unsteady

 

**Itailicized parts are to be sung to Unsteady by X Ambassadors**

Huge thanks to Rabbi Noa Kushner for her inspirational words and the lovely folks at Hello Mazel.

