Okay so I’m a super-proud husband.  My wife just finished the Susan G Koman 3-day walk for the cure. I had the joy of going out to cheer stations and one pit stop to support her and cheer for the nearly 3000 men and women that raised a total of $7.5 million.  I had a couple impressions:

  • The cheer stations were a lot of fun.  It’s one of the first times that I’ve been a part of cheering for something that wasn’t competitive. I was surprised how long I stayed, cheering long after my wife and church members had passed through…usually to the end.
  • Every now and then, I’d see someone walking by with tears in their eyes.  I can only imagine the thoughts, memories or worries that they carried with them.  I’m sure that made every step harder and beautiful at the same time.
  • This is more than a fundraising walk.  It is a protest–a protest against death…a march of unity that helps us deal with the threat from a source we cannot yet contain. 
  • The joy and humor of the walk was incredible!  It’s been a while since I’ve seen that many breast related jokes but I’m not complaining.  Humor is a wonderful way to cope with our struggles and fears.  Here are two of my favoite slogans:  1) Save Second Base and 2) Stop the war in my rack.   Brilliant!
  • Best moment (apart from seeing my wife succeed at something important to her and us): As the walkers processed into the closing ceremonies, two anonymous women handed pink roses to my daughters.  I have to admit, I cried (manly tears, of course).  What a powerful symbol for what these walkers were doing.  Walkingsave second base, save2ndbase, save 2nd base today so that my daughters and their family will have the lifetime together that they deserve. 

Thanks be to God for the volunteers who supported walkers, rubbed their feet, gave them candy and cheered them on!

Thanks be to God for the community that comes from a shared purpose and goal!

Thanks be to God for the walkers who march against death and walk on to hope!

